The Gang of Twelve…

As you know, unless you’ve been moonlighting as a cave-dweller. With the passage of the recent Debt-ceiling bill, Congress has been instructed to create a “United States Congress Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction” This committee will include 6 Democrats and 6 Republicans, 3 from each house of Congress. They’ve finally been named:

House Republicans: (3)
Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas (Co-Committee Chair)
Dave Camp, R-Michigan
Fred Upton, R-Michigan

House Democrats: (3)
James E. Clyburn, D-South Carolina
Xavier Becerra, D-California
Chris Van Hollen D-Maryland

Senate Republicans: (3)
Jon Kyl, R-Arizona
Pat Toomey, R-Pennsylvania
Rob Portman R-Ohio

Senate Democrats: (3)
Patty Murray, D-Wash (Co-Committee Chair)
John Kerry, D-Mass
Max Baucus, D-Mont

Since I know I have friends at all sides of the political spectrum (I sit on both sides of the “aisle”) I offer this without political dialogue. Due to the importance of the work being charged to this committee I just feel this it is important to know who the committee is and why they’ve been assembled.

2 responses to “The Gang of Twelve…”

Leave a Reply to Tim Bledsoe (@TimBledsoe) Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: